Life’s better when
we’re connected
Countdown (Central Time)

World Marathon Majors

The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo, Boston, Virgin London, BMW Berlin, Bank of America Chicago and ING New York City. The top five male and female finishers in each of these races are awarded points based on their placement. At the conclusion of each two-year racing cycle including the IAAF World Championship and Olympic marathons, the top male and female point-earners are crowned champions of the sport and equally split a $1 million prize purse.

The inaugural series began in Boston in April 2006 and concluded at the ING New York City Marathon in November 2007. Click here to view the current World Marathon Majors leader boards.

World Marathon Majors Series Champions
2011-2012: Geoffrey Mutai (KEN)
2010-2011: Emmanuel Mutai (KEN)
2009-2010: Sammy Wanjiru (KEN)
2008-2009: Sammy Wanjiru (KEN)
2007-2008: Martin Lel (KEN)
2006-2007: Robert K. Cheruiyot (KEN)
2011-2012: Mary Keitany (KEN)
2010-2011: Liliya Shobukhova (RUS)
2009-2010: Liliya Shobukhova (RUS)
2008-2009: Irina Mikitenko (GER)
2007-2008: Irina Mikitenko (GER)
2006-2007: Gete Wami (ETH)

Marathon fans can follow all the action with live leaderboards, athlete bios, statistics and updates at website.

World Marathon Majors

Bank of America World Marathon Majors IAAF Web Design, Search Margeting, Digital strategy – Nology Interactive, a Digital Agency